Corey Harris

Lesson >


Preaching Blues


Singing and Review

Corey Harris Lesson >

Preaching Blues > Singing and Review

In this lesson we will review some of the basics of the past three lessons. I slow down the main slide riff and discuss various ending ideas. Finally, i talk about the importance of singing the line of the song with originality. I have enjoyed teaching you all. Thanks!

Topics and/or subjects covered in this lesson:
Open E Tuning
Corey Harris
Slide Guitar
Open E Tuning
Son House
Robert Johnson
Preaching Blues

Print Print Chords & Tab

Loop 1:00 Open E Tuning (E B E G# B E)

Loop 1:20 Review

Loop 4:00 Endings

$6.0 $1. $1.0 $1.12 $1. $1. $4.0.$3.0.$2.0.$1.0 $1. $1.0 $1./4 $1. $1.0 | $6.0 $1. $1.12 $1.12\ $1. $1.0 $1./4 $1. $1./4 $2.0 $2.h2 $1.0 |
$6.0 $1. $1.0 $2./5 $1. $2./5 $6.0 $1. $4.0 $4./3 $1. $1. | $6.0.$5.0.$4.0.$3.0.$2.0 $1. $1. $5.2.$4.0.$3.0.$2.0 $1. $1. $5.3.$4.0.$3.0.$2.0 $1. $1. $1. $1. $1. |

Ending Variation

$6.0 $1. $1.0 $1.12 $1. $1. $4.0.$3.0.$2.0.$1.0 $1. $1.0 $1./4 $1. $1.0 | $6.0 $1. $1.12 $1.12\ $1. $1.0 $1./4 $1. $1./4 $2.0 $2.h2 $1.0 |
$6.0 $1. $1.0 $2./5 $1. $2./5 $6.0 $1. $4.0 $4./3 $1. $1. | $6.0.$5.0.$4.0.$3.0.$2.0 $6.x.$5.x.$4.x.$3.x.$2.x $6.x.$5.x.$4.x.$3.x.$2.x $5.0 $1. $5.2 $1. $5.3 $1. $1. $6.0 $1. $1. |

Loop 5:37 Singing A Cappella

 

Whoa, I'm gonna get my religion

I'm gonna join the Baptist Church

Whoa, I'm gonna get my religion

I'm gonna join the Baptist Church

You know I wanna be a Baptist preacher

Just so I won't have to work

 

Mmmm, met the blues one morning

He was walking like a man

Well I met the blues

He was walking like a man

Well I said good morning blues

Well now give me your right hand

 

Mmmm, I'm going to preach my blues

I'm going to choose my seat and sit down

Well I'm going to preach my blues

I'm going to choose my seat and sit down

Well I'm going do like a prisoner

I'm going work my time on out

 

Loop 7:03 Singing with Guitar

Loop 7:53 Humming the Melody and Finding Your Voice

Loop 9:15 Closing Thoughts 

 

 

Comments

Log in to leave a comment



Harry Roullier
Harry Roullier Oct 15, 2014

Thank you Corey. I noticed the note on the 12th fret sounded wrong. I looked back on the videos and found you were playing it over the 12th and I was sliding up. That fixed that part. The second lick on the tab shows I should go from an open E and slide up to the fourth fret. Is that where I should be or am I going a little too far up when I play... I am note sure on this part.

Thank you again

Harry Roullier
Harry Roullier Oct 09, 2014

Thank you Steven.

I am still not happy with the song and can pick it apart, but its a start. The only time it seems to distort now is using the national with thumb pick really picks up the volume. I am thinking of trying a wind sock or using some foam or something. I can't really turn the guitar as then I won't be facing the camera. Thanks for the feed back.

Harry Roullier
Harry Roullier Oct 05, 2014

The distortion got better just by changing the distance from the camera...simple fix. The volume is still all the way down, still a little distortion but much better. Now if I can just play better all will be good.

Steven
Steven Oct 08, 2014

nice playing, Mr. Roullier. have you tried angling the guitar from the pc's mic/camera? so its not a direct onslaught of sound?  maybe put a blanket near the computer or something to help dampen a bit might help? i dont know. just in case you didnt think of it. good luck!

Corey Harris
Corey Harris Oct 14, 2014

Greetings Harry.  You have a nice tone on the slide and the rhythm is pretty solid.  I would suggest that you pay closer attention to the notes coming from the slide.  Sometimes it sounds like there is a major note in the second sliding motion (down the neck, first one is up near 12th fret).  This song should be only pentatonic / dominant notes.  One major note will throw it off.   You have a good feel for the licks and their placement.  I think now you should put more work into your thumb because it seems like your fingers are doing more of the work.  You only need a steady bass to ground everything.  So slow everything down and listen for where the bass is there...work out what you will do with your thumb.  You have made a lot of progress.  Keep it up.

Steven
Steven Oct 03, 2014

mr. harris, here is an update. i havent been able to practice every day. have i fixed the string muting problem? 

I appreciate your time in reviewing my material.

Corey Harris
Corey Harris Oct 08, 2014

Greetings Steven and thanks for your post.  Yes it sounds a lot better.  Thanks also for singing...many people are too timid to step out there and sing.  I would suggest now that you work on the slide a little...it sounds good but i have noticed when uyo do the second sliding down near the third fret (end of phrase before going into rmain riff) that the last note before the hammer-on sounds a little too major...sounds like the slide is going a little too far.  That note should sound pentatonic, not pretty...  Thanks again.

Steven
Steven Oct 08, 2014

Thanks Mr. Harris. Wife and 3 kids. and living in Japan here in close proximity to people that arent used to loud americans singing. as well as the house being rather thin. paper walls arent a metaphor here. ^_^

So i have to pick the time when i can bust out, but certainly not timid about singing. ^^ Though I wanted to get the guitar down and also wasnt sure if i was hitting the mark correctly for starting phrase. since you didnt mention it i guess I was on the mark for vocal phrasing?

I'll work on that part of the slide. I also did a few minutes of practice on pony blues. Thats great. I was thinking of that song. Read my mind! I dont know why but learning something new seems harder than it used to be. ^_^ Thank you again. and sorry for being verbose.

bruno
bruno Oct 09, 2014

@steven Love your voice! Heard a little Louis Armstrong in there.

Corey Harris
Corey Harris Oct 14, 2014

Greetings Steven.  Try starting the song with the slide licks as an intro.  This will make it stand out more and be more exciting.  

Also I would like to hear the phrases that you sing be more compact as they seem to run on.  Try listening to Son House version...listen to his phrasing, how every vocal line has a place within the lick instead of running on. The phrases are short and rhythmic.  

Thanks for posting.  You are getting there!

 
Login-popup-sm Login-popup-banner

Member Log In

Forgot your password? Click here

New To Sonic Junction?

See Sign Up Info >

Popup-close
 
Login-popup-sm

New To Sonic Junction?

Try 2 Lessons Free

Popup-close