Tom M.
Tom M. Jun 23, 2014

Greetings all,

I just signed up and am really eager to start. 

Maybe it's good to introduce myself.

I really dig of this kind of music [Afro(-American)] and I always say it has chosen me and not the other way around. Being a white European guy this may be odd but it seems like it was always there and the music I loved (even as a child) always had black roots.

I started playing guitar at the age of 17 and since then it goes on and of. Played guitar in a Chicago blues band (early Little Walter & the Aces configuration - 2 guitars, drums and harp/vocal). After that I quit playing music for some time (desillution + went back to school).

3 years ago I decide it was about time I learned to play the guitar in a proper way, so I got myself an acoustic and grew calluses on my right hand was well.

I really hope to get a better understanding of the deeper groove in this music and make my right hand as laidback as possible.

Big shout out and bless you

Tom.

ps.: I'll add a video-recording 

Mike Caren
Mike Caren Jun 24, 2014

Hi Tom --- beautiful playing.  You have great thumb / picking independence.

I agree that the groove and phrasing is the key.  I like to think of it as the difference between playing notes and making music.

Great to have you a part of Sonic Junction and looking forward to seeing your videos as you take lessons!

Tom M.
Tom M. Jun 24, 2014

Thank you Mike,

The previews of the lessons look very promissing. Looking forward to it.

Corey Harris
Corey Harris Jul 16, 2014

Greetings Tom.  You have a nice tone on the guitar and your rhythm is solid.  Sounds good...what is the song?  Thanks for posting.

Tom M.
Tom M. Jul 16, 2014

Hi Corey,

Tnx for the tone-comment. I always strive for tone...

The song is a personal interpretation and simplification of the marvelous Blind Blake tune Chump Man Blues (in dropped D)

Harry Roullier
Harry Roullier Aug 02, 2014