JD Krooks Crouhy
JD Krooks Crouhy Sep 18, 2013

Hello Corey,

I'm still studying "kind hearted Woman" and i was wondering about the lyrics? maybe you could hep me ?

A Kind-Hearted Woman shouldn't be a nice woman ? So why she studies evil ? In the first verse he said that she does anything in the world for him and then that she wants to kill him at the end... Does it means that even a nice woman wants to kill you ? Or Kind-Hearted is an ironic term ?

I know you told me to put my feeling of the moment in the song and not necesseraly try do "act" the subject of the song (wich is a good advise !) But this song's lyrics are "disturbing" me a little so i asked you how to you take the lyrics...

Thanks for help !

Cheers

JD

Jim Carroll
Jim Carroll Oct 04, 2013

Hey JD,

I know you are asking Corey, but I thought I might take a shot at an answer. This song has always baffled me too. Check out Stephen Calt's 2009 book Barrelhouse Words: A Blues Dialect Dictionary. I'm not totally convinced by his definition of a kind-hearted woman (p. 143) as "a woman who caters to a gigolo in exchange for sexual fidelity," but I think it's in the ballpark. Calt does also include lyrics quoted from Lucille Bogan's "Kind Stella Blues" and Charley Patton's "It Won't Be Long" as well as Robert Johnson's "Kind-Hearted Woman," though I can't say I see a single, unambiguous use of the word kind between the three songs.